top of page

An Open Letter to International Filmmakers


A, personal, open later to those involved in the making of international films:

Dear International Filmmakers and Auteurs, (Especially Bong Joon-ho and Alfonso Cuaron),

I am a huge fan of all things cinema. I enjoy all kinds of films: tearjerkers, horror flicks, action films, dumb comedies, big blockbusters and independent films. I also enjoy foreign language films, when I am able to watch them. You see, I am visually impaired. I am not completely blind; I just occasionally need “audio description” or an "English dubbed track" when I watch movies, especially foreign language ones. I am not able to read the subtitles fast enough to fully enjoy them or even understand them. For those who don't know, audio description is an audio track that is available on some streaming services, blu-rays and theaters- a human voice that describes the action on screen (and also reads subtitles). Dubbing is another tool where voices are cut over the normal actor's voices in foreign films and says the lines in English or whatever other language you may choose. Both of these tools help me- and others with visual impairments- to enjoy movies, especially foreign language ones.

It's Oscars Week and Hollywood is buzzing with anticipation. For the second year in a row, an international film is nominated for Best Picture, This makes me so happy. I am thrilled that the Academy is recognizing these great works of art. I just really wish it were easier for me to watch them.

Roma, nominated last year for Best Picture (many people thought it should've won), was directed by one of my favorite filmmakers of all time, Alfonso Cuaron. I love his movies and his style. Children of Men is literally one of my favorite films. I thought, ok, Roma is in Spanish but it's a Netflix movie, and they are great at putting audio description on their content. I planned a night to watch it and was so excited. Then I turned it on, I was disappointed to find it only had Spanish audio description. This doesn't help me. I was never able to watch Roma.

Parasite is nominated this year. Once again, I love the director. Snowpeircer and Okja were great films. The only way I was able to watch it (at the theater) was with my girlfriend whispering summaries of every scene. It was fine and I really enjoyed the film, but this was not how Parasite was meant to be seen. I was looking forward to the blu-ray release because the majority of blu-rays include audio description. Nothing. No audio description. No dub. I will never be able to fully enjoy Parasite and I know for a fact that it's amazing.

I know some foreign language films are really good at including dubbed or audio description options. For example, The Raid (which made my top 50 films of the 2010's list) and the Dragon Tattoo trilogy both have dubbed versions.

I really believe that this needs to be done for all foreign language films. There is a whole world of films out there that people like me are not able to enjoy because of their disability. Not even Inglorious Bastards has an audio description dubbed track and that film is mostly in German.

In this great time of inclusivity and equality, I urge you please to think of those of us with disabilities. Not only does it hurt us to not be included, it hurts you. There is an entire population of people who literally can't enjoy foreign language films because of the subtitles. Wouldn't you want your film to reach the largest audience possible?

Thanks for reading. Please share! Here's to positive change!

Alexander Howard North Hollywood, CA

Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Black Google+ Icon
Recent Posts
bottom of page