top of page

Brawl in Cell Block 99 (2017) Review


I know this is not a new release but this film impressed the hell out of me. Brawl in Cell Block 99 is a fantastic film. The movie is about Bradley Thomas (Vince Vaughn), a man who works as a drug mule to support his pregnant wife (Jenniffer Carpenter). Bradley eventually gets caught and goes to prison, which is obvious by the title. In prison however, he is tasked with killing an inmate in cell block 99 and is told that if he doesn’t do it, his wife and daughter will pay the price.

Just like most people, I know VInce Vaughn from comedies like Wedding Crashers and Dodgeball. However, in this insane film, Vince Vaughn is big, buff and bald with a tatoo of a cross on the back of his head. He is a guy you do not want to mess with, and although he cracks the occasional smart ass joke or comment, this character is unlike any other that he has played. I would love to see him in more brutal and dramatic roles like this one, because I never thought I’d say this, but Vince Vaughn was actually great in this movie.

The story in this movie is good but the fighting is even better. ALl the fights are not only brutal, but shot and choreographed very well. There’s not much quick cutting at all. Most of the fighting scenes consist of smooth shots with only a few cuts and masterful choreography. The fighting style reminded me a bit of the Daredevil television show and The Raid. I was audibly cringing watching a lot of this movie and I loved every second of it. The story and combined with the action keeps you intrigued through the entire film. The script is also very well written, with dialogue that keeps the film flowing but also makes you think.

S. Craig Zahler, the director of Brawl in Cell Block 99, also directed another brutal movie I love called Bone Tomahawk, a horror western starring Kurt Russell. I still can't decide which film I like more, but one thing is for sure, I definitly love Zahler’s gory, brutal style and storytelling. I am lpoking forward to seeing his new movie, Dragged Across COncrete, whihc stars Mel Gibson, Vince Vaughn and Jenniffer Carpenter and has a limited release this week. Brawl in Cell Block 99 is not for everyone but if you like action movies and don't mind violence or gore I very strongly recommend it.

Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Black Google+ Icon
Recent Posts
bottom of page