top of page

I Don't Feel At Home In This World Anymore (2017) Review

I DON’T FEEL AT HOME IN THIS WORLD ANYMORE won the 2017 Sundance Grand Jury prize and was bought by Netflix. It premièred on Netflix on February 24th and I couldn’t wait to see it considering other Sundance winners have included Whiplash and Me, Earl and the Dying Girl. Unfortunately I was a bit disappointed.

The film is about Ruth who complains about everyone being an asshole in her life. She gets robbed and when the police don’t help her, she decides to take matters into her own hands and track down the perpetrators.

The first third of the film was phenomenal. It was full of dark, sometimes raunchy humor, and some of the lines I even wanted to write down they were so good. The dialogue set a very unique and fantastic tone for the film. Unfortunately the last two thirds of the film didn’t do it for me. The film just gets a little too serious and silly and comes off as a little ridiculous at the end. I was constantly surprised about where they were going with the movie, but not in a good way. The dialogue was great throughout but the situations they were getting into didn’t fit the humorous dialogue. It’s a strange independent movie and I really appreciate what it was trying to do but it did not succeed in my opinion. On the positive side, the acting was great. I’ve been a fan of Melanie Lynskey since she was on Togetherness and Elijah Wood was brilliant and hilarious as always.

Overall I Don’t Feel At Home In This World Anymore started out great but went in direction that was too weird and serious for it’s dark humorous dialogue. I was disappointed overall but am looking forward to more Sundance films from Netflix. C+

Directed by Macon Blair

Starring Melanie Lynskey and Elijah Wood

Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Black Google+ Icon
Recent Posts
bottom of page