top of page

Top 10 Films of 2016


I know it’s been a while, and we are a month and a half into 2017, but here are my top 10 films of 2016!

  1. LA LA LAND (Ryan Gosling Emma Stone, dir. Damian Chapelle) As well as being my most anticipated film of the year, La Land was my favorite film of the year. It was beautiful, emotional, creative and fun. The songs were fantastically written and very catchy. The cinematography was unbelievable and mesmerizing. And besides having my favorite actor Ryan Gosling) La Land displayed my favorite city in the world, Los Angeles, in a positive, beautiful and modern light, which is rare in movies nowadays. A+

  2. ARRIVAL (Amy Adams, Jermyn Renner, dir. Denis Villeneuve) Arrival was one of the smartest alien films I have seen in a long time. It was very original and really made you think. The twist at the end was mind-blowing and there was never a dull moment. There isn’t an alien invasion movie like it and for that I loved it. A+

  3. NOCTURNAL ANIMALS (Amy Adams, Jake Gyllenhall, Aaron Taylor Johnson, Michael Shannon, dir, Tom Ford) Good thing I waited to make my top 10 list. Saw this one late and it blew me away. This movie not only looks absolutely gorgeous but it keeps you on the edge of your seat and keeps you thinking about it for days after you left the theater. I call it the perfect break-up movie but it’s certainly more than that. The performances by the actors in this film keep the dual layer story totally intriguing. Absolutely amazing. A+

  4. HELL OR HIGH WATER (Jeff Bridges, Chris Pine, dir. David Mackenzie) This film took on one of the best and most unexpected rides of the year. It’s a small but intense and action packed bank robbery western with another outstanding performance by Jeff Bridges and the rest of the cast. I am usually not a huge fan of the genre, but this modern western had my kept me on the edge of my seat from start to finish. It even put me on a bank robbery movie binge for a while. Exciting, unique and an absolute blast! A

  5. DONT BREATHE (Steven Lang, Jane Levy dir. Feed Altered) Don't Breathe was my favorite horror film of the year and with movies like Lights Out, The Conjuring 2, and the Witch also released in 2016, that's no easy feat. Don't Breathe was creative in its story as well as its style. The twist took me completely by surprise and I will make never look at a turkey baster the same way again. My heart was pounding from start to finish and I even found myself yelling at the TV a few times. A-

  6. CAPTAIN AMERICA CIVIL WAR (Robert Downey Jr, Chris Evans dir. Anthony and Joe Russo) Civil War was the best Marvel film since The Avengers. The first third of the movie was a bit slow but once the main plot got started it didn't let up. The film was lots of fun and I think we can all agree the best part was Spider-Man. I also love that there was a clear winner in the Captain America vs. Iron Man fight, unlike the Batman vs. Superman fight. Civil War introduces many new characters but also expands on old ones very well. A total blast. A-

  7. CHRISTINE (Rebecca Hall, Michael C. Hall, dir. Antonio Campos) Christine is the most underrated indie of 2016. It's the fascinating true story about a news reporter in the 70s who shoots herself while on air. The movie is just as shocking as you would think. Rebecca Hall (who has been snubbed of many award nominations) portrays Christine as she slowly has a mental breakdown and is eventually driven to suicide. A great and fascinating film with many great acting performances and some solid cinematography as well. B+

  8. 10 CLOVERFIELD LANE (Mary Elizabeth Wine stead, John Goodman, dir. Dan Trachtenberg) Now I know there is a lot of debate surrounding the end of the film but I didn't mind it too much. The movie was intense and really kept you guessing about what was going to happen next. Goodman gives a great performance and Trachtenberg’s style kept me glued to the screen. There was never a dull moment, which is hard to achieve when 75% of the film takes place in a basement. I actually like it better than the first CLOVERFIELD and cannot wait to see the third in late 2017. B+

  9. HACKSAW RIDGE (Andrew Garfield, Vine Vaughn, dir Mel Gibson) Hacksaw Ridge was the first Mel Gibson-directed film I had ever seen and it blew me away. I expected it to be a bit boring and formulaic at times, like most bio-picks, but I was wrong. The battle scenes were totally epic, brutal and visually stunning. Vince Vaughn’s great performance as a training officer intrigued me throughout, especially in the scenes before Desmond Dos (Garfield) goes to war. A stunning and well crafted film. B+

  10. FINDING DORY (Ellen DeGeneres, Ty Burrell, dir. Andrew Stanton and Angus McLane) This film is all about the message. Zootopia was great and had a good message, but Finding Dory's really hit me. Every sea creature that Dory befriends has a disability of some sort. By the end, the animals don't get over their disabilities, but learn to live with them, realizing that they’ve been made better for them. I cannot talk about this film without getting emotional and I don't of know any other film that teaches this important lesson. The ending may have been a bit unrealistic but after all, it's about talking fish. Great message and a fun film. B

Honorable Mentions: Deadpool, The Shallows, Pop Star, Other People, Lights Out

Worst films of 2016: Suicide Squad, Independence Day: Resurgence, The Neon Demon, Assassins Creed, The Boy

________________________

Be sure to subscribe to my podcast Not Quite Hollywood on iTunes!

Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Black Google+ Icon
Recent Posts
bottom of page