top of page

Stranger Things (2016- ) Season 1 Review

I have not written a review in a while because I’ve been so busy with my internship but Stranger Things has motivated me to get back to it and really say why I love Stranger Things so much.

Stranger Things is my new favorite Netflix show. First of all Stranger Things has a huge nostalgia factor. For any 80’s movie fan, the parallels are obvious. ET, Close Encounters of the Third Kind, Alien, The Goonies, and Stand By Me and even Poltergeist all contribute to the style of Stranger Things. Watching the kids ride their bikes away from the men chasing them in vans and eleven using her telekinetic powers overflows with ET nostalgia. However a show cannot just count on nostalgia to be successful, as we saw earlier in the year with Fuller House. Stranger Things brings many other factors to the table.

Stranger Things somehow managed to find unbelievably talented children to portray their main characters. Specifically Millie Bobby Brown, who plays Eleven, is amazingly talented. Their chemistry is so believable that becomes nostalgic and relatable. The relationships the kids have with each other resemble relationships we all had as kids with our friends. Another thing that makes Stranger Things the best Netflix show is the writing. Not only did they manage to answer all the intriguing questions (unlike Lost), but they also kept the story close to the heart. There were several times where characters would have an intimate, happy moment one second, then a scary, intense or saddening moment the next. While watching the finale, I was literally laughing, then crying in the span of about 3 minutes. The show managed to connect with me, and so many others, on another level. I think it comes from writing such relatable and well rounded characters, that we see ourselves I them. The music in the series is also fantastic. It fits the mood and mystery of the show perfectly and was so good that I ended up making the theme song my new ringtone.

Stranger Things is a must see, especially for fans of classic 80‘s movies. Stranger Things has already become a cult classic and is slowly becoming one of Netflix’s biggest hits. The creators, the Duffer Brothers are brilliant in my eyes, and I not only hope Netflix gives the show a second season, but I’m hoping some major studios will take notice and let the Duffer Brothers direct a major upcoming project for the big screen. A+

Stranger Things is streaming on Netflix now!

Created by: The Duffer Brothers

Starring: Winona Ryder, Millie Bobby Brown, David Harbour, Finn Wolfhard, Gaten Matarazzo, Caleb McLaughlin and Natalie Dyer

Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Black Google+ Icon
Recent Posts
bottom of page